IEEE Quantum is an IEEE Future Directions initiative launched in 2019 that serves as IEEE's leading community for all projects and activities on quantum technologies. IEEE Quantum is supported by leadership and representation across IEEE Societies and OUs. The initiative has developed a project plan to address the current landscape of quantum technologies, identify challenges and opportunities, leverage and collaborate with existing initiatives, engage the quantum community at large, and sustain the Quantum Initiative in the long-term.


IEEE Quantum Steering Committee

Initiative Co-Chairs Candace Culhane, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Travis Humble, Oak Ridge National Laboratories
Hausi Müller, University of Victoria
Steering Committee Greg Byrd, NC State University
Tom Conte, Georgia Tech
Reena Dayal
Maëva Ghonda, ATARC
Lajos Hanzo, University of Southampton
Amr Helmy, University of Toronto
Scott Koziol, Baylor University
Bruce Kraemer, IEEE Standards Association
Catherine McGeoch, D-Wave
Oleg Mukhanov, Seeqc
Luu Nguyen, PsiQuantum
Elie Track, IEEE Council on Superconductivity
Lia Yeh, University of Oxford
Program Manager Terence Martinez, IEEE Future Directions


Participating OUs

IEEE Communications Society IEEE Computer Society IEEE Council on Superconductivity IEEE Educational Activities IEEE Electronics Packaging Society IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society IEEE Photonics Society IEEE Signal Processing Society IEEE Standards Association